As Above, So Below

DSCN2028

Have you ever climbed a 14,000 foot mountain? Or a 10-12 thousand foot one, or just gone up the highest hill around? Isn’t it exhilarating to reach the top, to see far in all directions, to breathe in the thinner air and feel the tingling sensation, light headedness and the primal life force? It is like vibrating at a different frequency. Notice how your perspective changes. The big picture. Hawk vision.  There seems to be a closer connection to the heavens, to the Divine. It is almost as if you could jump up and fly. An openness to higher knowledge and clearer wisdom with an increased ability or opportunity to raise yourself up, to link the day to day consciousness with the Universal. A time to honor the present, past and future. A time to be still and listen to the silence and allow intuition to come to awareness.

I find it interesting to then look through my binoculars and get a deeper, though narrower, understanding of this vantage point.

On the way down, what comes into your awareness? Are you still thinking of the top…or maybe what you are going to do when you get home…or are you still in a sort of higher consciousness, a higher vibration – noticing your surroundings in the moment, feeling the air on your skin, sensing the fragrance of the breeze, listening to the wind in the trees and the melody of bird songs?

Perhaps you see a little red squirrel or Abert’s squirrel scurrying about, fussing at your presence. This little one may be gathering seeds, nuts _DSC0280or truffles for winter, thinking ahead to the future. They remind me about planning for or honoring my own future – just as the hawk vision did on top. Have I gathered too much? What do I need to let go of that no longer serves me? Trinkets, thoughts, worries, stresses? What do I need to gather?  More energy? More compassion? A deeper commitment to my future? I look at the squirrel through binoculars, framed by green pine. I see deeper into its little face. It seems to smile, as it eats a pine cone, turning it with its little hands. Happiness. I feel it in my heart.

I find myself resting under an oak tree. I gather strength and endurance from its hearty, powerful presence.

I take off my shoes and walk mindfully. Every step, every breath, I send my love of the Earth through my feet, and feel the love from the Mother come up through them. With each inhale and exhale, love. Each step… Each step… Each… Step… Love.

At the bottom of the mountain, a wetland ecosystem presents itself. I look at the big picture of it, and how everything relates to each other in balance.

Sept 1 14 197

Ducks, herons, geese, kingfishers, and frogs. What do they mean in your own personal ecosystem? So many things to observe, to take in. What are the characteristics that relate to you personally? Frogs call in the rain.
Sept 1 14 047Ducks remind me of fun. Geese mate for life, and they speak their mind. Herons stand patiently for long periods of time looking in one spot, waiting for the perfect moment to catch their meal.

With binoculars, I notice the intricate feather patterns, facial expressions; and the green and violet colors of the swallows against the deep blue sky.

Willows are strong, yet very flexible. I always know I can depend on willows to help me up if I need a hand for balance or strength when crossing a stream. They have never let me down. I trust them.

I like to pretend to be a certain creature for a little while, perhaps a raccoon or a muskrat. I get down on my hands and knees to be at their height, changing my perspective. A whole different world. An alternate experience. I notice a fish, calmly and safely hiding in a shady spot, watching for a caddis fly larvae, or perhaps a mature fly on the water’s surface. A flycatcher soars down and grabs the fly before the fish has a chance.

_DSC0166_01

I lie down on my belly. Perspective changes again. Little bits of algae waving with the current, and tiny multicolored pebbles hopping along on their way downstream. Rainbow colored bubbles appear, that I never would have noticed standing up. All part of the ecosystem.

As I keep walking, I come to a large meadow. I look at the big picture – the grass surrounded by trees. Watching for movement, I see a bunny running, its white tail flashing through the trees; a reminder of fertile creativity; jumping from one thing to another; playfulness and softness.

Sept 1 14 349

I sit on the cool, moist grass, and take my magnifying glass out of my backpack. Another whole world to explore. The layers of life that I would ordinarily walk on and ignore greet me with a fascinating clarity. I touch a single blade of grass as I look up at a nearby tree, the sun shining on my face. As I soak up the vitamin D from the sun, the plants are using the sun as a catalyst to split the molecules of atmospheric CO2  into oxygen that it releases into the air that I am breathing; and liquid carbon, which it synthesizes into sugars for its food. Remember photosynthesis from high school biology? Some of these sugars feed the part of the plant above ground, and 20 – 40 percent travel underground, feeding its roots. I am reminded to feed my own roots.

Then this invisible world takes my thoughts underground, where the excess carbon sugars that the tree can’t use, leak out of the roots and into the earth, feeding the soil microbes – the bacteria and fungi that inhabit the rhizosphere. Another whole world! The liquid carbon has now entered the microbial ecosystem. It is no longer in the atmosphere contributing to global warming. It is being useful in the soil.  In exchange for their food, these microbes give back to the plant trace minerals and other nutrients that the plant can’t reach by itself.

Remember the truffles that the squirrel was gathering? They are a fleshy underground fungus, and yes, like chocolate to Abert’s squirrels. They need the roots of very old trees to live, an old growth ecosystem.

When you see a single mushroom above ground, its roots – or mycelia – can network as far and wide as 2 acres, transporting nutrients and energy from one type of tree or plant to another. They could not feed each other without this assistance.

When animals eat a blade of grass, the plant – in order to keep the right ratio of above/below ground, will shed some of its roots. These are in turn eaten by worms and nematodes which create more soil while aerating it, which helps the plants breathe and grow – which then take CO2 from the air, releasing O2 into the air, taking carbon underground, etc. Grasslands can take tons of carbon per acre out of the air, when managed properly.

Human practices, such as plowing, tear up the ground and kill these microbes. So do pesticides. Deforestation takes away the earth’s ability to take carbon dioxide out of the air, releasing oxygen and feeding plants and soil microbes. What are we doing internally that metaphor these actions? I am reminded to eat healthily, and to appreciate the internal workings of my bodily systems.
_DSC0001It takes eons to create an inch of soil, and a single season to destroy it. The good news is that there are better ways to farm, better ways to harvest trees.  Organic farmers now know how to grow even more food while at the same time returning carbon, fertility and water to the soil. We need to be conscious. We need to be aware of ecosystems. We need to speak up when we see them being destroyed. We need to educate ourselves. Whole species are disappearing as we keep our heads in the sand. The loss of one species can drastically change a whole ecosystem. Everything is related and everything needs everything else.

Each type of ecosystem is a component of the whole planet.  From the top of the mountain to subterranean; from oceans to desert – we are all connected. We are all the same energy, just vibrating at different frequencies. We are all one ecosystem.  We Are All One.

Each one of us is a whole ecosystem. Body, Mind and Spirit. How do we heal ourselves? How do we take care of ourselves and each other? How do we take care of the planet? Every small thing we do, every choice echoes all over the world.

What do you choose?

21 thoughts on “As Above, So Below

  1. Wow, Mary, thank you for this amazing description of the many levels of existence, let alone awareness. I love how you zoom the reader in and out from wide angle to macro and back out again. All the differences and how they are all inter-related ala eco-systems. The way you educated me here makes me realize that little differences I make do make a difference, because I probably have no idea how many ways my actions are affecting some bigger eco-system. So, excuse me while I go cull through my trash and make donations to the recylce bin and then turn off the light behind me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Kris, for what you said and for your willingness to make a difference. It is amazing in how many ways we do effect our surroundings, from walking unknowingly on a bug, all the way to Monsanto’s devious global atrocities. In a more positive light, from writing to senators to doing volunteer projects. The recycling bin is a useful tool. Haha. You affect this planet in many beneficial ways! ❤

      Like

  2. Thanks, Mary. Great post for a rainy Oregon afternoon. I`ll be much more attentive on my daily walk tomorrow to the things I`m missing. We did spend an inordinate amount of time yesterday looking at the fairy world created on a mossy rock, with all the different kinds of living things on that one two foot circle of rock ecosystem. Good to step back and feel gratitude for every thing in every day. Much love.

    Like

    • I would have loved sharing that mossy fairy world with you. Isn’t gratitude just the BEST?! Have a wonderful walk tomorrow. Love back atcha.

      Like

  3. WOW, this is a Powerful One! They ALL are, but somehow this one seems especially so, to me. The Interconnectedness of Everything is so vivid, as you describe it. It makes me more aware than ever of my and our impact on Everything Nature. THANK YOU, MARY

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for being so supportive, Jessica on Micha’s machine. It really is powerful how everything is connected – how everything and everyone is all the same energy vibrating at different frequencies. We have such impact on all. In this post, I tried to also go down the chakras, although, heart and throat are reversed – just to make the subtle point of how the outer is a reflection of the inner. Thank you for your comment!

      Like

  4. I have been at the top of tall mountains, thousands of feet up – and what an incredible feeling! Not only do you physically feel closer to the ‘heavens’ but also spiritually, it really is a beautiful place to be. I love how you started at the top and then took us down the slopes with you and zoomed in on all the smaller worlds that there are – each one an entire universe on its own. Everything is connected and plays its own role in the greater ecosystem – from the smallest little algaes to the biggest mountains. It is so sad that so many organisms are disappearing and we really do need to do our part in trying to make whatever difference we can! Thanks for making this known and for doing your bit in spreading the love and awareness… You’re awesome! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is sad to see so many creatures large and small disappearing! I struggle with that internally all the time – the balance between the choice to be happy, but also doing my part. Walking that line is difficult. I can easily go deep into the sadness of it – which is fine too, just not to set up camp there. The duality of the energy in the world is so huge right now, it is easy to get swept up in it. I find being in Nature is where I mostly find my peace – and I try to do what I can by keeping my vibes up. I loved what you said about that, by the way. Speaking of awesome….you!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks, Mike. We all experience things differently. Your perspective is pretty cool too. How we are with ourselves wherever we are is so important. I am just more of who I am in nature. Thanks for your comment.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow again, such a lovely post, and again I felt I was part of your walk about, feeling the grass and smelling the air on the mountain. You are fortunate to get to experience natures beauty. I suppose there is plenty for me to explore around here, but I study and ponder the ecosystem of my garden mostly. ❤

    Namaste
    Sindy

    Like

  7. If you throw a pebble in a pond the ripple effects the whole pond. The fish feel and hear the vibration. The water is moved through out the whole pond. All plants, creatures,organisms are effected by that one pebble being thrown in the pond. so with the microcosm also the macrocosm. Try to walk, talk and act so you don’t disturb the atmosphere: for every action, for every step, for every word carries throughout, carries an effect. Make it a good one. Be mindful of the effect. And don’t give in or up.
    Thank you for reminding me about the pebble in the pond Mary.

    Like

    • Yes! Well said, Michele. What a beautiful comment. Can you imagine what the world would be like if everyone felt that way or aspired to that value? I believe our thoughts have the same effect, as well as our energy and vibration. With the world as it is – all the chaos – it is often hard to remember to “walk, talk and act so that you don’t disturb the atmosphere,” and to keep our vibration high and our thoughts positive. Every time we choose to emit love, compassion, gratitude, peace and honor for the “microcosm and macrocosm,” the whole pond benefits. Being “mindful of the effect,” of all we do echoes all over the world. You are right, we can’t “give in our up.” Thank you for your profound words.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Mary it was wonderful going on your nature walk in my mind. I do the same thing when I am out in nature especially when I have the camera in hand. I get to see the world through a difference lens – literally through the lens of the camera. I love looking out at the mountains and the valley below when I come to a clearing and like you, when I reach the valley I take in the smallest details. You have a gift!
    I try to purchase very little packaged food so my garbage takes at least two weeks or more before it needs to go to the curb and I recycle anything I can. I donate, reuse, recycle and walk lightly when in the woods as to not disturb the environment – at least only minimally. I plant trees when possible and had a garden when I owned my home. When making a purchase I think about the life of the product before buying as well. We can all do our part to make this a better world and by teaching the children in our lives this same thought process it will live on for generations to come. Love and Light!

    Like

    • Thank you for walking lightly on the earth, and for all you do to help the planet. Thank you for recycling, planting and for honoring the planet. You are a kindred spirit. Thank you for your comment. Love and Light to you as well.
      Mary

      Like

Leave a Reply

